Updated: April, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Wyoming – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Wyoming Highway Safety Program website.
In Wyoming, the maximum speed limit for cars is 80 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 80 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Wyoming allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 1 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In Wyoming, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16 years and 6 months.
Wyoming requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
Unlike most states, Wyoming does not increase the penalty for moving violations within an active work zone.
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Wyoming, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Wyoming, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Wyoming. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Wyoming, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Wyoming requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Wyoming is $25.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.