Learners Permits Driving Laws by State

Provisional License age in each state
Younger Age
Older Age

Updated: July, 2017

The map above shows the age at which new drivers in each state can first get their learners permit, sometimes called a provisional driver’s license. The maps shows that states in the middle of country tend to allow drivers to get their learners permit at a younger age.

Most states have 3 type of license. When you are first learning to drive you can get a learners permit which typically allows for driving only with an authorized co-pilot in the car. After meeting the learners permit requirements, you can get an intermediate driver’s license. Rules for intermediate driver’s license vary widely from state to state but typically impose limitations on the time of day you can drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car. Finally, once you reach the required minimum age, you can get a full driver’s license.

The table below shows the minimum age requirements for each type of license in each state.

StateLearners Permit AgeLearners Permit Min DurationIntermidiate License AgeFull License Age
AlabamaAlabama15 years6 months16 years17 years
AlaskaAlaska14 years6 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
ArizonaArizona15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
ArkansasArkansas14 years6 months16 years18 years
CaliforniaCalifornia15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years17 years
ColoradoColorado15 years12 months16 years17 years
ConnecticutConnecticut16 years4 months16 years, 4 mo.18 years
DelawareDelaware16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.17 years
District of ColumbiaDistrict of Columbia16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.18 years
FloridaFlorida15 years12 months16 years18 years
GeorgiaGeorgia15 years12 months16 years18 years
HawaiiHawaii15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years17 years
IdahoIdaho14 years, 6 mo.6 months15 years16 years
IllinoisIllinois15 years9 months16 years18 years
IndianaIndiana15 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.18 years
IowaIowa14 years12 months16 years17 years
KansasKansas14 years12 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
KentuckyKentucky16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.17 years
LouisianaLouisiana15 years6 months16 years17 years
MaineMaine15 years6 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
MarylandMaryland15 years, 9 mo.9 months16 years, 6 mo.18 years
MassachusettsMassachusetts16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.18 years
MichiganMichigan14 years, 9 mo.6 months16 years17 years
MinnesotaMinnesota15 years6 months16 years17 years
MississippiMississippi15 years12 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
MissouriMissouri15 years6 months16 years18 years
MontanaMontana14 years, 6 mo.6 months15 years16 years
NebraskaNebraska15 years6 months16 years17 years
NevadaNevada15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years18 years
New HampshireNew Hampshire15 years, 6 mo.0 months16 years17 years
New JerseyNew Jersey16 years6 months17 years18 years
New MexicoNew Mexico15 years6 months15 years, 6 mo.16 years, 6 mo.
New YorkNew York16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.17 years
North CarolinaNorth Carolina15 years12 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
North DakotaNorth Dakota14 years12 months16 years16 years
OhioOhio15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years18 years
OklahomaOklahoma15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
OregonOregon15 years6 months16 years17 years
PennsylvaniaPennsylvania16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.17 years
Rhode IslandRhode Island16 years6 months16 years, 6 mo.17 years, 6 mo.
South CarolinaSouth Carolina15 years6 months15 years, 6 mo.16 years, 6 mo.
South DakotaSouth Dakota14 years3 months14 years, 3 mo.16 years
TennesseeTennessee15 years6 months16 years17 years
TexasTexas15 years6 months16 years18 years
UtahUtah15 years6 months16 years17 years
VermontVermont15 years12 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.
VirginiaVirginia15 years, 6 mo.9 months16 years, 3 mo.18 years
WashingtonWashington15 years6 months16 years18 years
West VirginiaWest Virginia15 years6 months16 years17 years
WisconsinWisconsin15 years, 6 mo.6 months16 years16 years, 9 mo.
WyomingWyoming15 years1 months16 years16 years, 6 mo.