Updated: December, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in Missouri – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Missouri Traffic and Highway Safety Division website.
In Missouri, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Missouri allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Missouri, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Missouri requires you to renew your license every 6 years. There are additional provisions for older drivers:
The state of Missouri enforces increased penalties for speeding or passing violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Missouri, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Missouri, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Missouri, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is not banned in Missouri. In Missouri, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Missouri requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Missouri is $10.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.