Updated: December, 2022Summary of common traffic laws in Idaho – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Idaho Office of Highway Safety website.
In Idaho, the maximum speed limit for cars is 80 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is only 70 mph. Speed limits vary by state and, in some cases, county-by-county. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Idaho allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 14 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 15. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Idaho, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16.
Idaho requires you to renew your license every 4 years. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
The state of Idaho enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Idaho, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Idaho, driving with a BAC above 0.20% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Idaho, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Idaho. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Idaho, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Idaho requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Idaho is $10.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.