Updated: June, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Vermont – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program website.
In Vermont, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Vermont allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 12 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Vermont, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16 years and 6 months.
Vermont requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Vermont enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Vermont, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In Vermont, driving with a BAC above 0.00% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Vermont, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Vermont. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Vermont, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Vermont requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Vermont is $25.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.