Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in Texas – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Texas Traffic Safety Section website.
In Texas, the maximum speed limit for cars is 85 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 85 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Texas allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In Texas, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Texas requires you to renew your license every 6 years. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
The state of Texas enforces increased penalties for all moving vehicle violations violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Texas, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In Texas, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Texas, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is not banned in Texas. In Texas, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Texas requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Texas is $200.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.