Updated: May, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Mississippi – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Mississippi Office of Highway Safety website.
In Mississippi, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. Speed limits vary by state and, in some cases, county-by-county. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Mississippi allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 12 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Mississippi, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16 years and 6 months.
Mississippi requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
Unlike most states, Mississippi does not increase the penalty for moving violations within an active work zone.
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Mississippi, driving with a BAC above 0.00% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Mississippi, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is not banned in Mississippi. In Mississippi, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Mississippi requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Mississippi is $25.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.