Updated: November, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in North Dakota – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the North Dakota Department of Transportation website.
In North Dakota, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
North Dakota allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 14. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 12 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In North Dakota, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16.
North Dakota requires you to renew your license every 6 years. Older drivers face additional renewal requirements:
The state of North Dakota enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In North Dakota, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In North Dakota, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In North Dakota, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in North Dakota. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In North Dakota, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
North Dakota requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in North Dakota is $20.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.