Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in Ohio – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Ohio Traffic Safety Office website.
In Ohio, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Ohio allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Ohio, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Ohio requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
The state of Ohio enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Ohio, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Ohio, driving with a BAC above 0.17% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Texting while driving is illegal in most but not all states. In Ohio, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Ohio. Texting while driving is a primary offense, meaning that the law can only be enforced if you were pulled over for another reason such as speeding or reckless driving. In Ohio, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Ohio requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Ohio is $30.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.