Updated: September, 2018Summary of common traffic laws in Wisconsin – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Wisconsin Bureau of Transportation Safety website.
In Wisconsin, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Wisconsin allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Wisconsin, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16 years and 9 months.
Wisconsin requires you to renew your license every 8 years.
The state of Wisconsin enforces increased penalties for various violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present but road work signs do not have to be in place in order for the Work Zone Enhancement to be enforced. In Wisconsin, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Wisconsin, driving with a BAC above 0.17% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Wisconsin, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in Wisconsin. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Wisconsin, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Wisconsin requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Wisconsin is $10.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.