Updated: January, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in New Jersey – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety website.
In New Jersey, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
New Jersey allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 16. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 17. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In New Jersey, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
New Jersey requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of New Jersey enforces increased penalties for all moving vehicle violations violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In New Jersey, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In New Jersey, driving with a BAC above 0.10% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In New Jersey, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in New Jersey. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In New Jersey, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
New Jersey requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in New Jersey is $20.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.