License Renewals Driving Laws by State

Drivers License Renewal Frequency
Frequent Renwals
Infrequent Renwals

Updated: August, 2017

Each state had different rules regarding how often you must renew your driver’s license. The map above shows how frequently licenses must be renewed in each state.

Renewals are typically required every 5 to 10 years, but is more frequent in some states. Arizona does not require you to renew your driver’s license until you are 65 years old.

Most states have additional renewal requirements for older drivers. These rules vary widely state to state but typically require more frequent renewals, driving tests, and/or vision test.

The table below shows the license renew requirements for each state.

StateRenewal FrequencyAdditonal Info
AlabamaAlabamaEvery 4 yearsNone
AlaskaAlaskaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 69: no mail renewal
ArizonaArizonaNoneOver the age of 65: renewal every 5 years, mail renewal requires passage of vision exam within the prior 3 months. Over the age of 70: no mail renewal.
ArkansasArkansasEvery 4 yearsNone
CaliforniaCaliforniaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 70: no mail renewal
ColoradoColoradoEvery 10 yearsOver the age of 61: renewal every 5 years. Over the age of 66: no electronic renewal, mail renewal requires passage of vision exam within the prior 6 months.
ConnecticutConnecticutEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 65: choice of 2 or 6 year renewal, mail renewal requires demonstration of hardship
DelawareDelawareEvery 8 yearsNone
District of ColumbiaDistrict of ColumbiaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 70: vision test, possible reaction test, and physician's letter
FloridaFloridaEvery 8 yearsOver the age of 80: renewal every 6 years with vision test (in person or physician's letter if renewing by mail or electronically)
GeorgiaGeorgiaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 64: vision test
HawaiiHawaiiEvery 8 yearsOver the age of 72: renewal every 2 years
IdahoIdahoEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 63: renewal every 4 years
IllinoisIllinoisEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 75: road test. Over the age of 81-86: renewal every 2 years. Over the age of 87: renewal every year.
IndianaIndianaEvery 6 yearsOver the age of 70: no electronic or mail renewal. 75-84: renewal every 3 years. Over the age of 85: renewal every 2 years.
IowaIowaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 70: renewal every 2 years
KansasKansasEvery 6 yearsOver the age of 65: renewal every 4 years
KentuckyKentuckyEvery 4 yearsNone
LouisianaLouisianaEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 70: no mail renewal
MaineMaineEvery 6 years40-61: vision test at every other renewal. Over the age of 62: vision test at every renewal. Over the age of 65: renewal every 4 years.
MarylandMarylandEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 40: vision test
MassachusettsMassachusettsEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 75: renewal in person only
MichiganMichiganEvery 4 yearsNone
MinnesotaMinnesotaEvery 4 yearsNone
MississippiMississippiEvery 4 yearsNone
MissouriMissouriEvery 6 yearsOver the age of 70: renewal every 3 years
MontanaMontanaEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 75: renewal every 4 years
NebraskaNebraskaEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 72: no electronic renewal
NevadaNevadaEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 70: mail renewal must include medical report
New HampshireNew HampshireEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 75: road test
New JerseyNew JerseyEvery 4 yearsNone
New MexicoNew MexicoEvery 4 yearsOver the age of 75: renewal every year
New YorkNew YorkEvery 8 yearsNone
North CarolinaNorth CarolinaEvery 8 yearsOver the age of 60: parallel parking not required on road test. Over the age of 66: renewal every 5 years.
North DakotaNorth DakotaEvery 6 yearsOver the age of 78: renewal every 4 years
OhioOhioEvery 4 yearsNone
OklahomaOklahomaEvery 4 years62-64: fee reduced. Over the age of 65: fee waived.
OregonOregonEvery 8 yearsOver the age of 50: vision test
PennsylvaniaPennsylvaniaEvery 4 yearsNone
Rhode IslandRhode IslandEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 75: renewal every 2 years
South CarolinaSouth CarolinaEvery 10 yearsOver the age of 65: renewal and vision test every 5 years
South DakotaSouth DakotaEvery 5 yearsNone
TennesseeTennesseeEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 60: fee reduced. Over the age of 65: no expiration.
TexasTexasEvery 6 yearsOver the age of 79: no electronic or mail renewal. Over the age of 85: renewal every 2 years.
UtahUtahEvery 5 yearsOver the age of 65: vision test
VermontVermontEvery 4 yearsNone
VirginiaVirginiaEvery 8 yearsOver the age of 75: renewal every 5 years in person with vision test (in person or physician report)
WashingtonWashingtonEvery 5 yearsNone
West VirginiaWest VirginiaEvery 8 yearsNone
WisconsinWisconsinEvery 8 yearsNone
WyomingWyomingEvery 4 yearsNone