Updated: March, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Maryland – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Maryland Highway Safety Office website.
In Maryland, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Maryland allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 9 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 9 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16 years and 6 months. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In Maryland, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Maryland requires you to renew your license every 5 years. There are additional provisions for older drivers:
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Maryland enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Maryland, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Maryland, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Maryland, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Maryland. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Maryland, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Maryland requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Maryland is $50.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.