Updated: September, 2018Summary of common traffic laws in Connecticut – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Connecticut Office of Highway Safety website.
In Connecticut, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Connecticut allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 16. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 4 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16 years and 4 months. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In Connecticut, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Connecticut requires you to renew your license every 4 years. Older drivers face additional renewal requirements:
The state of Connecticut enforces increased penalties for all moving traffic violations violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Connecticut, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In Connecticut, driving with a BAC above 0.16% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Connecticut, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in Connecticut. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. Unlike most states, in Connecticut, distracted driving is not listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Connecticut requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Connecticut is $15.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.