Updated: February, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Nevada – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Nevada Office of Traffic Safety website.
In Nevada, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Nevada allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In Nevada, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Nevada requires you to renew your license every 4 years. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Nevada enforces increased penalties for various violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Nevada, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Nevada, driving with a BAC above 0.18% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Nevada, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Nevada. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Nevada, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Nevada requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Nevada is $25.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.