Updated: March, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in New Hampshire – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the New Hampshire Highway Safety Agency website.
In New Hampshire, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
New Hampshire allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 0 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In New Hampshire, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 17.
New Hampshire requires you to renew your license every 5 years. Older drivers face additional renewal requirements:
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of New Hampshire enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In New Hampshire, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In New Hampshire, driving with a BAC above 0.16% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Texting while driving is illegal in most but not all states. In New Hampshire, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in New Hampshire. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In New Hampshire, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
New Hampshire does not enforce seatbelt use. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.