Updated: April, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Arizona – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety website.
In Arizona, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Speed limits vary by state and, in some cases, county-by-county. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Arizona allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15 years and 6 months. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Arizona, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16 years and 6 months.
Arizona does not require drivers to renew their drivers licenses. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Arizona enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Arizona, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Arizona, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Arizona, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is not banned in Arizona. In Arizona, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Arizona requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Arizona is $10.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.