Updated: May, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Massachusetts – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Massachusetts Highway Safety Division website.
In Massachusetts, the maximum speed limit for cars is 65 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 65 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Massachusetts allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 16. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16 years and 6 months. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Massachusetts, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Massachusetts requires you to renew your license every 5 years. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Massachusetts enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Massachusetts, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In Massachusetts, driving with a BAC above 0.20% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In Massachusetts, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Massachusetts. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Massachusetts, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Massachusetts requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Massachusetts is $25.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.