Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in Nebraska – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety website.
In Nebraska, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Nebraska allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Nebraska, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 17.
Nebraska requires you to renew your license every 5 years. If you are over a certain age, additional license renewal rules apply:
The state of Nebraska enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Nebraska, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Nebraska, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Nebraska, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in Nebraska. Texting while driving is a primary offense, meaning that the law can only be enforced if you were pulled over for another reason such as speeding or reckless driving. In Nebraska, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Nebraska requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Nebraska is $25.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.