Updated: April, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Delaware – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Delaware Office of Highway Safety website.
In Delaware, the maximum speed limit for cars is 55 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 55 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Delaware allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 16. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16 years and 6 months. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Delaware, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 17.
Delaware requires you to renew your license every 8 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Delaware enforces increased penalties for all moving violations violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Work Zone Enhancements can be enforced even if workers are not present as long as road work signs are posted. In Delaware, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Delaware, driving with a BAC above 0.16% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Texting while driving is illegal in most but not all states. In Delaware, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in Delaware. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Delaware, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Delaware requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Delaware is $25.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.