Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in West Virginia – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the West Virginia Governor's Highway Safety Program website.
In West Virginia, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
West Virginia allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 15. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In West Virginia, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 17.
West Virginia requires you to renew your license every 8 years.
The state of West Virginia enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In West Virginia, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In West Virginia, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Most states do not allow cellphone use while driving. In West Virginia, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned for all drivers, regardless of age. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in West Virginia. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In West Virginia, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
West Virginia requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in West Virginia is $25.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in.