Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in Pennsylvania – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Pennsylvania Bureau of Maintenance and Operations website.
In Pennsylvania, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 70 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Pennsylvania allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 16. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16 years and 6 months. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Pennsylvania, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 17.
Pennsylvania requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
The state of Pennsylvania enforces increased penalties for various violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Pennsylvania, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Pennsylvania, driving with a BAC above 0.16% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Pennsylvania, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in Pennsylvania. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Pennsylvania, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Pennsylvania requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Pennsylvania is $10.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.