Updated: September, 2017Summary of common traffic laws in South Dakota – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety website.
In South Dakota, the maximum speed limit for cars is 75 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is also 75 mph. Maximum speeds may only apply to small sections of designated roads - not all highways. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
South Dakota allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 14. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 3 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 14 years and 3 months. An Intermediate License imposes restricts on when you are allowed to drive and how many passengers are allowed in the car, but allows you to drive yourself without an instructor in the car.
In South Dakota, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 16.
South Dakota requires you to renew your license every 5 years.
The state of South Dakota enforces increased penalties for speeding violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In South Dakota, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Driving while above the legal limit is called Driving Under the Influence. Driving while above certain BAC is called Driving while intoxicated and carries a heavier penalty. In South Dakota, driving with a BAC above 0.17% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Texting while driving is illegal in most but not all states. In South Dakota, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Hands-free interaction with cellphones is allowed.
Texting while driving is banned in South Dakota. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In South Dakota, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
South Dakota requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered secondary, which means you cannot be pulled over for violating a seatbelt law. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in South Dakota is $20.00. Seatbelt laws very by state. Many states require passengers to wear seatbelts as well.