Updated: February, 2023Summary of common traffic laws in Arkansas – Speed limits, License Renewals, Learners Permits, Drunk Driving Laws, and more. For more information, visit the Arkansas Highway Safety Office website.
In Arkansas, the maximum speed limit for cars is 70 mph. The maximum highway speed for trucks is only 65 mph. These are maximum speeds. Speeds may be lower on highway passing through urban areas. Always observe posted traffic laws and drive safely for the weather and road conditions.
Arkansas allows new drivers to get their learners permit at the age of 14. You must have your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months. Drivers can then get their intermediate license at 16. An Intermediate License allows you to drive yourself without a qualified co-pilot in the car. However, driving restrictions still apply including the time-of-day you can drive and the maximum number of passengers allowed.
In Arkansas, drivers can obtain their full drivers license at the age of 18.
Arkansas requires you to renew your license every 4 years.
View all Drivers License Renewal Info
The state of Arkansas enforces increased penalties for all moving traffic violations violations within work zones. These increased penalties are known as Work Zone Enhancements. Workers must be present and there must be signs idicating road work is in progress in order for Work Zone Enhancements to be enforced. In Arkansas, Work Zone Enhacements are:
The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. States often enforce more strict mandatory penalties for drivers above a certain BAC. In Arkansas, driving with a BAC above 0.15% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties.
Texting while driving is illegal in most but not all states. In Arkansas, hand-held devices such as phones and mp3 player are banned to novice drivers only. Handheld devices bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system.
Texting while driving is banned in Arkansas. Texting while driving is concidered a primary offense. This means that you can be pulled over with texting as the only offense. In Arkansas, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms.
Arkansas requires seabelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is concidered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Arkansas is $25.00. Safety belt laws very state-by-state. Consult your states Department of Transportation for specific seatbelt use laws.